Senate District 13
Nathan H. Manning
Manning Introduces Bill to Restore Local Control to Lorain City Schools
April 15, 2021

COLUMBUS—State Senator Nathan Manning (R-North Ridgeville) today introduced legislation to restore local control to Lorain City Schools, which is currently under the purview of the state's Academic Distress Commission.

"Restoring local control is imperative for the future success of Lorain's students, teachers and school district," said Manning. "I look forward to working with my colleagues to create a path forward for a district that has struggled to cope with the unnecessary restrictions imposed by the Academic Distress Commission."

Under the legislation, Lorain Schools would submit an improvement plan to the state Department of Education for approval, including academic benchmarks through June 30, 2025. The academic distress commission would continue to exist during that time, but only offer assistance to the district, relinquishing any operational or managerial control it may have to the local school board.

"I am grateful to have the support of both the Senate and House Education Chairs, as well as Lorain City Schools CEO, Dr. Jeff Graham, and leaders in the Lorain Academic Distress Commission and School Board in this effort," added Manning.

After three years, Lorain schools would be reevaluated by the state board of education based on new benchmarks included in the bill. If the district fails to meet those standards, control would once again be turned over to the state.

"I thank Senator Manning for bringing forward this important legislation, and I look forward to working with both state and local leaders to ensure there is a pathway for Lorain Schools to regain control and provide a high quality education to their students," stated Senator Andrew Brenner, Chairman of the Senate Education Committee.

For more information on Senate Bill 165, click here.

Pictured, left to right: CEO Dr. Jeff Graham, Representative Gayle Manning, School Board President Mark Ballard, Senator Nathan Manning, Senator Andrew Brenner, Representative Joe Miller, Bill Sturgill, ADC Chairman Dr. Randall Sampson
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.