Senate District 17
Bob Peterson
Senate Passes Resolution Urging Congress to Permanently Extend Daylight Savings Time
February 26, 2020

COLUMBUS— The Senate passed Senate Concurrent Resolution 8, sponsored by Senators Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) and Kristina Roegner (R-Hudson), which urges Congress to enact the "Sunshine Protection Act of 2019," federal legislation that would permanently extend Daylight Saving Time across the country.

"If acted on by Congress, the Sunshine Protection Act will allow Ohioans to avoid the disruption to our lives of changing clocks, losing an hour every spring and gaining one every fall," Peterson said.

Research shows that biannual time changes are associated with increases in fatal automobile accidents, workplace injuries, and heart attacks, among other issues. Instead of changing the time twice a year, S.C.R. 8 urges Congress to take action on federal legislation enacting Daylight Saving Time uniformly and permanently across all states. The effect of doing so would be shifting daylight time toward the evening during the winter months when Standard Time is currently observed.

S.C.R. 8 will now be sent to the the Ohio House for further consideration.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.