Skip to main content

Blessing Recognizes St. John The Baptist Girls Soccer Champs on Senate Floor

March 30, 2023
Louis W. Blessing, III News

COLUMBUS—State Senator Louis W. Blessing, III (R-Colerain Township) presented a resolution in the Ohio Senate chamber on Wednesday recognizing the St. John the Baptist Girls (Harrison) Soccer Team for winning the state championship. St. John the Baptist is a preschool-eighth grade coed Catholic elementary school located in Harrison, a suburb northwest of Cincinnati.

"This is a remarkable achievement by an impressive group of young ladies," said Blessing. "They have learned an invaluable lesson that will help them both on the field and in life -- if you try your hardest and work together as a team, great and wonderful things are possible. I am very proud of them."

The team is composed of girls in 5th, 6th, and 7th grades who took first place in the Western Cincinnati Association League with a record of 14-1-1. They topped that by winning the Ohio SAY (Soccer Association for Youth) Girls Strikers state tournament.  

Members of the championship team are: Rilynn Rizzo, Taylor Lake, Ella Harvey, Marissa Perella, Lucy Schwieterman, Grace Jeffreys, Jenna Holder, Lila Kiefer, Peyton Riddell, Raegan Hollis, Addison Hammann, Lily Braun, are Gabby Rolfes. Brian Braun, Tim Jeffreys, and Jason Harvey are the coaches.