Skip to main content

Manning Honors Ohio's National Teacher of the Year

November 30, 2022
Nathan H. Manning News
Manning Honors Ohio's National Teacher of the Year
COLUMBUS—State Senator Nathan Manning (R-North Ridgeville) presented a Senate Resolution today honoring Oberlin High School history teacher Kurt Russell, who was named the 2022 National Teacher of the Year by the Council of Chief State School Officers.

"Kurt represents the very best in education, and we are privileged to have him right here in Ohio," said Manning. "It is a pleasure to recognize a teacher for the most prestigious award his noble profession can bestow. This speaks so well for the quality of education our students receive in Lorain County and the 13th Senate District and we can all be very proud of Mr. Russell's distinguished accomplishment."

The National Teacher of the Year is chosen by a selection committee of 17 individuals and education organizations. The council announced Russell's selection in April. He has previously been named teacher of the year by the Oberlin Heritage Center in 2009 and the Oberlin chapter of the NAACP in 2019.

Russell was born and raised in Oberlin. In addition to teaching, he serves as faculty advisor for the student-led Black Student Union and is the head coach for the school’s varsity basketball team.